Hello (and Neck Bushings)

Gunsmithing & DIY forum for everyone. Enjoy!
Post your projects, questions and advice here.
Gatekeeper25
Favourite Cartridge: 22-250

Hello (and Neck Bushings)

Post by Gatekeeper25 »

Hi all,

I've been hiding in the background on here for a while but I finally have an excuse to join in, so here goes.

Firstly, as a way of introduction :

I have been shooting for about 40 years and reloading for about 30. I shot 50m Smallbore for many years but not for a long time now. I'd like to try some type of longer range target shooting at some point but time is a little scarce at the moment. These days I chase foxes and pigs mainly and have a dream of finally getting my first deer, but no luck with that so far. I would say that I know a little bit about a lot of things but am an expert in nothing so always ready to listen to those that know more than me. Which leads me to my questions….

I would like some advice on selecting the correct neck bushing size.

I have a couple of projects on the go and I am ready to start preparing cases however I have never had to turn necks before so this is all a bit of a mystery to me.

From what I have read I have come up with the following:

For the .17 (17 Predator, formed from 223)

0.197 chamber less 0.003 = 0.194 loaded (turned) size. Less 0.003 for neck tension = 0.191 bushing size

For the .20 (most likely a 20-222 but still considering options.)

0.232 chamber less 0.003 = 0.229 loaded (turned) size. Less 0.003 for neck tension = 0.226 bushing size

Does this sound about right?

The chamber sizes are taken from the reamer print and not from any real world measurement.

I'm guessing that I may not have to turn the .20s ?

How many steps should I take for the 17? Was hoping to just use the 20 bushing as an (almost) halfway point.

I have the Redding Type S neck bushing die body already, just need a bushing to go in it.